What I wish I knew about IKEA


Screen Shot 2013-06-07 at 6.36.43 PM

So a few months ago I went to IKEA for the first time and Boy was it… OVERWHELMING.

 

I mean really there should be a guidebook about going to IKEA.

 

I live about 2 hours away from the nearest IKEA so our trips are few and far between.

So I decided to compile a list of things to keep in mind if you don’t frequent IKEA all the time.

 

1)    Be ready to dedicate your day or at least the majority of your day to the trip.

Honestly! I thought we could do it in 2 hours. Little did I know that it would take 2 hours to get to the warehouse where you could actually buy things!!

 

2)    Have a list of what you need!

I feel like this may feel like common sense, but I cannot tell you how many people were walking around not remembering what they actually went there for.  There is so much stuff that it can be very distracting and expensive!

 

3)    Have a plan and a back-up plan

IKEA has some awesome items for some awesome prices but, everyone else also knows that. Often that turquoise metal coffee table may be out of stock. Or in our case the entertainment center may not look as good in person. It’s always a good idea to comparison shop.

 

4)    Take pictures of the area of your home the items are going to go, and bring paint swatches!

SO SO SO important! If you don’t frequent IKEA often, it is heartbreaking to get home and find out that your shelves clash with your walls. Also IKEA’s return policy is nuts!

 

5)    Bring measuring tape and dimensions

See above. The worst is getting a rug that is dwarfed by your furniture.

 

6)    Wear comfortable shoes.

I’m not sure I stressed the fact that this is going to be a long trip. There is a lot of walking.

 

7)    Make sure you have enough space in your car.

IKEA charges about the same amount as the furniture to ship to you. Especially if you live far from the store!

 

 

8)    Have a plan but don’t get discouraged

Seeing things in person can really change your mind. Keep an open mind and don’t be afraid to try something new.

 

9)    Have Fun

This store is huge, but it’s also so fun! Don’t forget it! And get a snack while you’re at it!!!

 

I hope this was helpful!
photo (17)

One thought on “What I wish I knew about IKEA

  1. Pingback: IKEA Orlando: Observances of a Doe-Eyed Visitor | Outside the Den

Leave a Reply

