Inspired by the Best Bloggers: Vertical Blinds Headboard!

photo-1

This is my headboard. I’m in love!!!

I wish I could take credit for this stellar idea, but alas I was inspired by this post over at MAD IN CRAFTS:

DIY Oversized Woven Headboard from Vertical Blinds_thumb[1]

I definitely suggest using her post as the tutorial as we took some serious liberties.

Here is the link to the post: http://www.madincrafts.com/2013/03/diy-woven-headboard-from-upcycled.html

We replicated the project before the actual instructions went up so ours was a little different. Plus we didn’t use cloth vertical blinds. We used those heavy plastic ones because we like to torture ourselves. We also added some more color to fit our aesthetics. But I really do love the headboard.

So enjoy!

Bedroom[2]

If you have any questions I’d be happy to answer them in the comments section below.

photo (17)

2 thoughts on “Inspired by the Best Bloggers: Vertical Blinds Headboard!

  1. Elaina

    How did you color the darker blinds? Spray paint? Do you think there will be any problem with the paint scratching off the plastic blinds? What wood size/dimensions did you use? Also, I’m wondering how hard it was to wrap the plastic blinds around the wood to staple gun it on the back. Thanks for posting your project!

    Reply
    1. craftycobras Post author

      Hey Elaina,

      Sorry for the delayed response!!! We made a 4 foot by 4 foot wood frame that we secured with a wooden triangle in each of the corners. It’s not as difficult as you think to wrap the blinds and staple, I recommend taping them in place and then putting in the staples. You want to get the vertical blinds with a little bit of flexibility! I did use spray paint on the blinds, I prefer rustoleum brand! Thanks for the comment!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

