Road Trip: Atlanta (Fringe Festival)

photo_12

This past weekend I had the awesome chance to go to Atlanta GA with John! We made our 5 and half hour trek to see the show I wrote SEND/END come to life! Early this year my show was entered by the production company Leave Your Mark, and selected by the Fringe committee.

photo_6

So off we went. Besides my show I wanted to show Atlanta’s best sights to John because he had never been there before.

Many hours and playlists later we arrived at Newk’s to meet up with some of the cast of SEND/END and fill our bellies. The food was great and then we were off to the Sweetwater Brewery tour and Tasting.

photo_11

The Sweetwater Brewery was so laid back and so much fun. My personal favorite was the Winter Festive Ale. It had that coffee, chocolate-y thickness that I really love in a beer. We had a great time!photo_10

photo_9

photo_8

Then we zipped over to the Horizons School to see the early performance of SEND/END.

photo_7

It was really great! I laughed and got a little teary as well. It was crazy to see something I wrote come to life. It was really special.

Then we went to Little Five Points for dinner. We waited a long time for a well-known ATL spot The Vortex.

L5P-Entrance-Locations

John had the craziest burger  listed under the menu heading “OMFG BURGERS” and called Zombie Apocalypse. Here’s a somewhat blurry picture of it.

photo_13

Then we headed back to watch the second performance of SEND/END and I was reunited with the co-author Henry!

photo_14

We got a chance to thank the cast and I think I enjoyed watching it the second time more than the first. I got to see all of the ensembles funny bits and really catch all the hard work they put into it.

photo_5

There was much celebration afterwards!

The next day john and I got up and headed to the Georgia Aquarium. I had never been and was really excited to see it!

photo_3

It is breath-taking. We really enjoyed the whole thing, but if we had to select a favorite moment it would definitely be the touch-pool with the sting-rays. John and I love interacting with Sting-Rays. We probably spent a half hour doing just that.

photo_4

Afterward we knew our short trip was coming to a close, but we had one last stop at the Varsity before we left! It was John’s first time and my first time since in a looong time.

varisty

It was delicious.

photo

I just love Atlanta! It has so much theatre and so much life! I can’t wait until my next adventure takes me there!!!

Bonus- I found a billboard advertising some cobras at the botanical gardens! How fun!

photo_1

We had an amazing time and I hope you enjoyed reading about it!!!
photo (17)

Leave a Reply

