The Kitchen Chronicles

photo (18)

My kitchen has been a labor of love for me. When we moved in it looked like this:

DSC00708DSC00709

How bleh bleh bleh! Yellow walls, a very outdated fridge, and not a lot of counter space, but a relatively big room!

And now I am happy to say it looks more like this:

kitchen1kitchen2

So I want to tell you a little about my favorite easy solutions to the space.

The most important thing to talk about is my landlord. You can see him in the before photo! I truly believe I live in a renters dream. My landlord encourages my projects and actually reimburses me and John for a lot of our materials like paint, tarps, brushes, etc. Yep, I know your jealous. He is the man.

So one would think that means carte blanche right? Wrong. He reimburses within reason. If I show up every two weeks with 200 dollars in receipts my crafting days and renting from Mr. Awesome would be over. So I try and find the thriftiest solutions always.

Originally I painted the kitchen brown.  I thought I would do this whole coffee  color with red accents. Well after a few months living in it I hated it. It did not match the other rooms, and it was sad. So sad that I don’t think I took any pictures of it when it was painted brown. Whoops. Shows how much I really did not like it.

So after my first trip to IKEA… (which was overwhelming by the way read more about that here: http://wp.me/p3CpzN-1l)
I had a great shelf for my kitchen but after a month had still not installed it. And before we did that I just wanted to re-do the whole darn thing.

First to go; the awful brown walls. We jumped over to Home Depot and got some white paint as well as 2 quarts of Chalkboard paint. Oh yeah.

Then we got the mother of all awesome:

zinsser

Some various cans of rust-oleum spray paint (my personal fave)

And 3 rolls of black vinyl contact paper.

Then I hopped over to Sherwin Williams for 2 quarts of an awesome red color. Fireworks if you’re interested

So the kitchen over haul had begun.

We started repainting the walls the wall with the window and the fridge wall were painted white. There is nothing a fresh coat of white paint can’t do.  I also painted the window sill black. I wanted to give it an awesome pop of color!

Then the wall with the back door was painted with the chalkboard paint.

Then the big project. I painted my cabinets.  You guessed it Red.

And slowly but surely my kitchen became a place I liked to be in again.

But the most offensive thing in my kitchen was my backsplash… or lack there of. I don’t know if you can see it from those before picture but it’s gross.

So contact paper to the rescue! That’s right. I have a contact paper backsplash. And it’s super easy to clean and totally renter friendly.  It is a measure and cut kinda job. Make sure you’ve got a credit card handy so you can smooth out any air bubbles. Pro-Tip: you can also use a pin to pop the bubbles and then you can use the credit card to smooth out the air.

Then it was on to decoration.  I wanted to have bright primary colors. A trip to the dollar store was in order. I got an awesome amount of towels, little containers, and frames all for the very low price of 1 dollar.

I then set out spraying a bunch of frames different primary colors and installing them on my wall. Pictures of that coming soon!

And finally after months ( and some pretty decent sized holes and anchors in the wall) I installed the IKEA shelf that I got for the room in the first place.

So that’s where my kitchen is today.  I really want to do something fabulous with the fridge. It is very old, and to be honest very ugly.

Any ideas?

photo (17)

2 thoughts on “The Kitchen Chronicles

  1. Kelly

    Actually saw something with a fridge that I had never seen before just this week. Chalkboard paint on the bottom portion – but clearly it could work on both – and what a great place to write your grocery list or dinner menu. Let me know what you decide to do with your fridge. Love your cool and crafty projects!

    Reply
    1. craftycobras Post author

      Thanks for the idea!! I love chalkboard paint. I actually have a lot left over from the wall. The fridge definitely needs some love, but it will have to wait until our big living room project get’s finished!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

