Let’s Build a Wall Part 2: Another Brick in the Wall

So I was a little overjoyed when I found out that Lowe’s sold brick Masonite textured sheets at 25 bucks a pop.

The only problem with these is that they look a little like this:

photo (35)

And I wanted my brick to look a little more like this:

photo (34)

So I spent much of my Saturday distressing some brick

Here are the things you’re going to need:

  1. –          Faux Brick Masonite
  2. –          White paint
  3. –          Black Paint
  4. –          Brown Paint
  5. –          A textured dollar store sponge
  6. –          A spray bottle
  7. –          Warm Water
  8. –          A tiny drop of vinegar
  9. –          Paper towels.
  10. –          Foam brushes
  11. –          Small paint brush
  12. –          Paper plates for mixing

 

I wanted the bricks to look like they had that the worn white cement in between so I set out outlining the bricks in an off-white/brown/grey mix that I concocted carefully by just adding and mixing on a paper plate. Then I applied it to the gaps between the bricks with a foam brush and sometimes a small paint brush.

photo (36)

I didn’t mind if some lines were bigger than others because it looks way more natural and less processed that way. I let that dry, which didn’t take long in a very air conditioned apartment.

photo (37)

Then I went on to making the bricks look old.

Listen, there are a lot of tutorials on this out there… And I’ve watched/read a lot of them. But most of the processI learned from scenic painting so I encourage you to look at all the ways before you try this yourself.  Most of the tutorials I found made the bricks look too white. I bought red brick panels because I still wanted some red brick to show through. But some enjoy the white washed brick approach so try em all!

Because I had our brick sheets cut down to 3×8 rather than 4 x 8 I had some pieces to try a few techniques out on before moving on to the main pieces for the door.

The first technique I tried was with a make your own spray paint mixture in a dollar store travel spray bottle.  And then apply it by spraying and moving it around with a plastic bag. It looked ok, but it just wasn’t natural enough.

Then I picked up the same mixture I used for the cement in between the bricks and used the foam brush to put on a lot in one place. Then I grabbed the sponge and a spray bottle and put warm water plus a drop of vinegar. I sprayed the water on my paint mixture and used the sponge to move it pretty far across the bricks. If I wanted more brick to show I’d use a paper towel to wipe excess paint away and show more red brick. I left some areas untouched and some with a lot of white.

photo (38)

Also I used my hands. Don’t be afraid to get messy!

 

I’m pretty pleased with the result.

Hope this was helpful!

photo (17)

Leave a Reply

